The problem with asking

Wyatt Greenway
4 min readJun 7, 2024
Man staring at a wall of post-it notes

The problem with asking is that my boss didn’t ask me if $20 per-hour was enough to take care of my family.

The problem with asking is that I didn’t ask my wife if it was okay to sleep with my mistress.

The problem with asking is that my priest didn’t ask me if it was okay to manipulate me into donating “charitably” to “the church”.

There is the handyman who massively fucked up a build or install didn’t ask the person who fixed it for advice.

There is the doctor who forgot how to ask how to be a doctor, because he was drunk and cheating his way through college.

There is the student who didn’t ask if cheating would improve the quality of his life.

There is the wife who forgot to ask her husband if monogamy was something he’d agree to.

There is the groom who forgot to ask his bride if monogamy was something she could agree to.

There is the child who forgot to ask if the stove was hot.

The marketer who forgot to ask who the audience was.

The firefighter who forgot to ask if his oxygen was running low.

And the soldier who forgot to ask if his safety was off.

--

--

Wyatt Greenway

Long time professional and hobbyist software enthusiast, spiritual seeker, and philosopher